Our Ambition, Your Satisfaction.
You are here : Home Page \ Gastronomy \ Restaurants \ 540 Café

540 Café

Legendary restaurant in Megève

In recent years, the 540 CAFE has found its place among the regulars of Megève and locals. The proof is, the restaurant is open year round, and offseason it looks like an almost secret hideout "for those who know."

Ideally located at the foot of Jaillet, the restaurant is easily accessible for pedestrians from the village and by car thanks to the adjoining car park. Summer and winter, skiers, hikers, bikers or simple visitors, converge on one of the most beautiful terraces south of the village to have a good time to practice the table or lazing in the sun.

The reception is very relaxed while staying of quality, everything is done so that everyone benefits from the card that offers fresh and inventive food. Some classics of the establishment such as large salads, the famous "540 Burger" and the homemade desserts have made ​​their reputation. Rotated every week, the menu likes to surprise customers by traveling across 5 continents. A three tomatoes and mozzarella salad di Buffala will very well be married with a traditional veal stew or a tuna steak with Asian accents. For dinner, the dimmed lights and the fire warm a modern decor, flirting with the lounge colored bistro .

540 Café

Legendary restaurant in Megève

Mathieu GOTTARDI.
Born June 2, 1977

After attending the Hotel School of Thonon les Bains and Grenoble, Matthew began working in the kitchen for Franck Brunel in La Croix Valmer in Souléïas, then for Paul Bocuse in Lyon at the Brasserie de l'Est and finally for Sophie Bise in Talloires at the Auberge du Père Bise, before returning to Megeve where he made ​​his debut in the mid 90s. He seconds the furnaces of Cintra for five years and is at the same time chef at Mandarines for two years for Patrick Mourot who then brilliantly hold both Mégevans establishments. In 2006, he went to Canada and Vancouver where he worked for a year as a chef in a complex of four restaurants located in the heart of the Olympic resort of Whistler.

Back in France, and with these rewarding experiences, Mathieu decides to create a restaurant corresponding to him, both for the card that will be served and by the ambiance and hospitality offered.

It was in 2008 that the ideal place is finally found. He then resumed the old restaurant at the foot of Jaillet with its large terrace facing south and start major works to transform the place.
Since then we can find Matthew and his team at the 540 CAFE in a friendly atmosphere.

540 Café

Legendary restaurant in Megève

Photos
  • 540 Café

  • 540 Café

  • 540 Café

  • 540 Café

  • 540 Café

  • 540 Café

  • 540 Café

  • 540 Café

  • 540 Café

  • 540 Café

540 Café

Legendary restaurant in Megève

Need more information? You can contact this partner directly using the form below.


540 Café

Legendary restaurant in Megève

Payment
Cash Master Card

Miscellaneous Information

Seat in the Table Ronde Française n°160 – Cluses Mont-Blanc

Contact
Le Windows -
	The very good restaurant of the England Hotel, permanent service.
Loading

Receive the offers of our partners !

Notre Ambition, Votre Satisfaction.
Vous êtes ici : Accueil \ Gastronomie \ Restaurants \ 540 Café

540 Café

Restaurant mythique à Megève

En quelques années, le 540 CAFE a su trouver sa place auprès des habitués de Megève et des gens du pays. La preuve en est, le restaurant est ouvert à l’année, et en intersaison il prend des airs de repaire presque secret « pour ceux qui savent ».

Idéalement situé au pied du Jaillet, le restaurant est facilement  accessible pour les piétons depuis le village et en voiture grâce au parking attenant. Eté comme hiver, skieurs, randonneurs, fans de VTT ou simples visiteurs, convergent sur une des plus belles terrasses plein sud du village pour y passer un bon moment à table ou pratiquer le farniente dans les transats.

L’accueil est très décontracté en restant de qualité,  tout est fait pour que chacun profite  de la carte qui propose une cuisine fraiche et inventive. Quelques grands classiques de l’établissement comme les grosses salades, le fameux « 540 Burger » et les desserts maison en ont fait sa réputation. Renouvelé toutes les semaines, le menu aime surprendre en faisant voyager les clients sur les 5 continents. Une salade aux trois tomates et Mozzarella di Buffala fera très bon ménage avec une traditionnelle blanquette de veau ou un pavé de thon aux accents asiatiques. Pour le diner, les lumières tamisées et et la cheminée réchauffent une décoration moderne, flirtant avec le bistrot lounge et aux couleurs acidulées.

540 Café

Restaurant mythique à Megève

Mathieu GOTTARDI.
Né le 2 juin 1977

Après avoir fréquenté les écoles hôtelières de Thonon les Bains et de Grenoble, Mathieu commence à travailler en cuisine pour Franck Brunel à La Croix Valmer au Souléïas, puis pour Paul Bocuse à Lyon à la Brasserie de l’Est et enfin pour Sophie Bise à Talloires à l’Auberge du Père Bise, avant de revenir à Megève où il avait fait ses premières armes au milieu des années 90. Il seconde les fourneaux du Cintra pendant cinq ans et parallèlement est chef de cuisine au Mandarines pendant deux ans pour Patrick Mourot qui tient alors avec brio les deux établissements Mégevans. En 2006, direction le Canada et Vancouver où il travaille pendant un an comme chef dans un complexe de quatre restaurants situés au cœur de la station olympique de Whistler.

De retour en France, et fort de ces expériences enrichissantes, Mathieu décide de créer un restaurant lui correspondant, tant pour la carte qui y sera servie que par l’ambiance et l’accueil proposés.

C’est en 2008 que le lieu idéal est enfin trouvé. Il reprend alors l’ancien restaurant situé au pied du Jaillet avec sa grande terrasse plein Sud et entreprend d’importants travaux afin de faire peau neuve.
Depuis on peut  retrouver Mathieu et toute son équipe au 540 CAFE dans une ambiance conviviale.

540 Café

Restaurant mythique à Megève

Photos
  • 540 Café

  • 540 Café

  • 540 Café

  • 540 Café

  • 540 Café

  • 540 Café

  • 540 Café

  • 540 Café

  • 540 Café

  • 540 Café

540 Café

Restaurant mythique à Megève

Besoin de plus d'informations ? Vous pouvez contacter directement ce partenaire en utilisant le formulaire ci-dessous.


540 Café

Restaurant mythique à Megève

Paiement
Cash Master Card

Informations Diverses

Siège de la Table Ronde Française n°160 – Cluses Mont-Blanc

Contact
Le Windows -
	Le très bon restaurant gastronomique de l'hôtel d'Angleterre, service à toutes heures.
Loading

Recevez les offres de nos partenaires !